Federal Government Sites:

Belgium - Belgian Nuclear Research Centre

Canada - Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL)

Finland - Posiva 

France - National Radwaste Management Board (ANDRA) 

Germany - DBE 

Spain - ENRESA

Sweden - Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Company (SKB) 

Switzerland - National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste (Nagra)United Kingdom - Nirex 

International Atomic Energy Agency - (IAEA) 

Nuclear Energy Agency - (NEA)


The Nuclear Waste Policy Act as amended (NWPA), designated the Yucca Mountain site in Nevada as the only site to be considered for a geologic repository for disposal of spent fuel and high-level nuclear waste. The NWPA also provided for the Affected Units of Local Government (AULG) within the vicinity of Yucca Mountain to oversee and participate in the Yucca Mountain Project. By affording AULG participation rights, Congress sought to increase public confidence in the scientific integrity of the repository program, provide citizens the means to interact with the federal government, and demonstrate a commitment to external oversight.

The following is a list of Counties with "Affected" Status - Affected Units of Local Government (AULG)

Affected Units of Local Government (AULG)

Indian Tribes with "Affected" Status

Regional Web Sites

Other affected entities

  • City of Caliente
    Kevin Phillips
    City of Caliente
    P.O. Box 1006
    Caliente, NV 89008-1006
    (775) 726-3132
  • City of Las Vegas
    Maggie Plaster, Management Analyst
    Office of Administrative Services
    400 Stewart Ave, 8th Floor
    Las Vegas, NV 89101
    (702) 229-5918
  • Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
    Joe Kennedy
    Tribal Chairman
    136 Edwards Street
    Bishop, Ca 93514
    (702) 873-9003
  • Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
    The Honorable Gloria Hernandez
    Tribal Chairwoman
    Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
    #1 Paiute Drive
    Las Vegas, NV 89106
    (702) 386-3926
  • Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force
    Judy Treichel
    4550 W. Oakey Blvd., #111
    Las Vegas, NV 89102
    (702) 248-1127
  • Boulder City
    Brok Armantrout
    Director, Community Development Department
    City of Boulder City
    P.O. Box 61350
    Boulder City, NV 89006-1350
    (702) 293-9261
  • City North Las Vegas
    Conni Hansen
    Department of Public Works
    2266 Civic Center Dr.
    North Las Vegas, NV 89030
    (702) 633-12
  • City of Henderson
    Mike Cyphers
    Henderson Fire Department
    240 Water Street
    Henderson, NV 89015
    (702) 267-221240
  • Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau
    Patrick Guinan
    Senior Research Analyst
    Legislative Counsel Bureau
    401 S. Carson Street
    Carson City, NV 89701-4747
    (775) 684-6825
  • Moapa Paiute Tribe
    Calvin Meyers
    Tribal Representative
    Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
    P.O. Box 340
    Moapa, NV 89025
    (702) 371-4435